Hermit Crabs

Hermit Crabs are protected by their shells which are also their homes. Wherever they go their homes comes with them. Hermit Crabs are scavengers so they will eat things from dead fish, algae, seaweed, and even fallen fruit! Hermit Crabs live on land or in the ocean. A few hermit crab predators include seagulls, octopus, pufferfish, and clown fish.    

3540889_f520                                                                                                                                           Do You Like Hermit Crabs?

Do You Have A Pet Hermit Crab?

4 thoughts on “Hermit Crabs

  1. Dear Riley,
    What a difference in the sizes of the animals you just told us about. The Killer Whale being so powerful and then the hermit crab carrying it’s home around for protection. They both play such an important role in the Ocean Ecosystem. Do you have a pet Hermit Crab Riley?

    From,
    Mrs. Fordyce

  2. Dear Mrs. Fordyce,
    I use to have 2 hermit crabs named Claws and Hermie. When I first brought Claws home from the pet store, he pinched me so hard that I screamed! My sister had a hermit crab too, so we have had quite a few hermit crabs in our house. Have you or your kids ever had a pet hermit crab?

    From,
    Riley

  3. Dear Riley,
    I never knew that hermit crabs eat fruit. I also didn’t know seagulls, octopus, pufferfish, and clown fish are a hermit crabs predators. Why did you want write about hermit crabs?
    From your friend,
    Simone

  4. Dear Riley,
    I think it is cool that hermit crabs can travel with their homes on their back. I do not have a pet hermit crab, but I do like them. They are very funny to watch as they move. If you try to touch them, they might snap at you with their claws. I went to Lopez Island and touched a hermit crab. It luckily did not snap at me, but it snapped at my friend.
    From, William

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*
*